Miami Workplace Injuries Attorneys
The majority of workplaces are sedentary jobs, with little risk of injury. However, it is important for employers and employees alike to understand that an injury may occur, regardless of the type of work involved. When an employee receives an injury in the workplace, it is important to remember that the injury is often covered within the Florida workers’ compensation laws. If you or a loved one have been injured in an accident while at the workplace, you may fall within the Florida workers’ compensation act, or you may be entitled to bring a claim for your injuries.
In 2014, the Bureau of Labor Statistics reported that the service industry reported the majority of all workplace injury, while the remaining injuries occurred in goods-producing industries. However, the industry with the most fatalities continues to be the construction industry, year after year. The “fatal four” of the construction industry includes the following accidents:
- Struck by object
These accidents accounted for more than half of all construction fatalities in 2014, and are carefully monitored by the Bureau of Labor. The construction industry is a hot topic among the United States Department of Labor, since eliminating these four dangers would save hundreds of lives each year.
While construction jobs and other chemical or factory positions may appear to be more dangerous than desk jobs, it is important that employees of all jobs become familiar with the Florida workers’ compensation statutes, since accidents can happen in any day, in any industry.
Florida Workers’ Compensation
Florida provides for employees to receive compensation after workplace injuries, through the Florida workers’ compensation laws. After an injury, an employee must notify their employer as soon as possible, within 30 days of the accident or knowledge of the injury. Employers generally have a set list of doctors which an employee may visit after an injury, and the injured employee must therefore receive authorization from their employer prior to a doctor’s visit. In emergency situations, an employee may rush straight to the emergency room, but must remember to file a formal incident report as soon as possible after the accident. An employer must report an employee’s injury and accident to the state within 7 days of the employee reporting the accident.
It may be necessary to hire a personal injury attorney in a workers’ compensation claim to ensure you receive the compensation you deserve after your injuries. Employers do not always quickly file a workers’ compensation claim, and may miss the cut-off period. Other workers may not qualify to bring a claim under the workers’ compensation statute, despite devastating injuries received in the workplace. In these situations, a personal injury attorney plays an important role in presenting the facts of the workplace accident to the court.
Lipcon & Lipcon | Miami Workplace Injuries Lawyer
If you or a loved one have been injured in a workplace accident, do not hesitate to contact the attorneys of Lipcon & Lipcon. Our attorneys have years of experience in handling workplace injury claims, and will assist you in either filing your workers’ compensation claim, or in bringing an individual claim against your employer. Contact our Miami office today for your initial free consultation and we will begin examining the facts of your case to determine the best route to take.